musings on infantcare

the other day, I realised that infantcare is more expensive than I thought it would be. the back story is that some time ago, one of NG’s clients told him about the dollar for dollar matching scheme that the govt gives when you contribute to the child development account (CDA). so if you deposit the school fees into the CDA for deduction, you’re effectively paying only 50%.

however I only just learnt that the dollar for dollar matching is capped at $3,000. so if the monthly fees are $750 (after deducting subsidies), it’ll only last us about 8 months of 50% co-payment. dang! I was hoping it could go on forever. ha ha. we’ll also get $3,000 from opening the account, but I know this pool will run out quickly so I was hoping to capitalise on the dollar for dollar matching in the long run.

(after note: alternatively the $3,000 could last 13 months of 70% co-payment, I realise. still not too shabby. 13 months because enrol at 5 months + 13 months of infantcare before qualifying for childcare at 18 months)

so I was feeling a bit down that my cash flow won’t be as free as I thought it would be. and then as timely reminders come, a Facebook friend posted about being grateful about the rezeki you have. and I thought to myself, ah that’s a gentle wake up call. insyaAllah we’ll still be able to tide through the relatively expensive infantcare phase, even if it means I’ll have to give up some of my “fun” money. by the time Watermelon enrols in childcare at 18 months, our CDA benefits would have dried up. but childcare is generally also cheaper so insyaAllah it’ll still work out lah.

anyway, all this mulling and we’ve not even (a) secured her spot or (b) confirmed that we’re doing infantcare. haha. just trying to think ahead!

also, a part of me is a little … sad? … that I’ve always been saving up for the next phase since I started working and will continue to do so. at first it was saving up for the wedding and honeymoon which took about 2+ years, then after marriage it was reno, then now it’s all the baby gear purchases and childbirth prep, and soon it’ll be childcare fees. and who knows, soon after it could be baby no 2 hor? on the bright side, my milestones didn’t happen serentak, which would have undermined the budget I could target for each of them.

I was hoping for a little break where I could put the money into a Big Holiday fund or something, but I guess I’ll have to squirrel away money every month and allocate a lump sum of my bonuses for that instead. insyaAllah everything’s possible with some planning and discipline, and need to remind myself to always, always be grateful for all that i have.

12 thoughts on “musings on infantcare

Leave a Reply

