wedding kraken x ninja groom: a photo story (part 1 of 3)

ahhhh laptop time!!! i used to sit in front of my laptop a lot, just surfing the net and wasting time away. then earlier this year my laptop’s wireless card died. a few months later i got married, which meant that there are even more competing uses for my time. so it’s been a while since i get to sit here and update my blog proper.

i’ve been meaning to share some wedding pics, but i thought i would get my priorities right. i made sure to reply my photographer on the proposed coffee table album layout before choosing which pics get to make it here… so here goes!

all photographs by Fadly Salleh from An Analog Affair.

Saturday, 9 May 2015

we start off with a shot my Ikea Kallax shelf and wedding shoes that I got off Carousell. on it are my two bouquets: left by nora zee and right is the DIY peony bouquet that my neighbour did.

around 4 plus that morning, a bridesmaid messaged the group to say that she was sick. i remember lying awake on my bed, sighing to myself. and then another whammy: another bridesmaid said that she worked late the night before and didn’t think she could reach my place by 7+ am, as earlier planned. “i will reach ur place at 9am tmr” “is it possible for you to aim for 8.30am instead? think it’ll be safer…” (me being a bridezilla)

i don’t remember exactly what i prayed for that morning. could have been for everything to go smoothly, or for strength to take everything in my stride, or both.

luckily for me, that was the only scare that day. sick bridesmaid managed to turn up, too 🙂 alhamdulillah for friends who overcome difficulties for you.

my mak andam arrived at 7+, and we got started on my make up. oh yeah before that i was quickly stuffing my face with breakfast so that i wouldn’t starve to death that morning. the make up process was faster than expected, and i really didn’t enjoy the part where she had to draw underneath my eyelids. ow!

R+H037

i gasped when i first saw this photo. i see the front step of my parent’s flat every day but i’ve never seen it … this way.

R+H038

i’ve always loved the walking-down-the-HDB-corridor shot.

R+H055

i was running late for my majlis khatam quran. everyone was seated in position, waiting for me. as i approached the stage, mama kraken wanted me to climb over the stage so i would get to my seat even sooner. i ignored her comment and went by the side steps. meanwhile, ilah was telling me to chill, chill, walk slower. she helped me settle down. then i took many deep breaths before i read Ad-Dhuha. then the rest of the ladies read one surah each until we reached Al-Ikhlas, where we started reading together.

R+H015 copy

commercial break on some DIY details. on the left is the bunga rampai for NG’s entourage. on the right is our table decorations. a fake flower arrangement by mama kraken, together with a decorative holder which my sister helped prepare. it includes the doa for newly weds, a request from mama kraken less than 10 days to the wedding. i remember sighing out loud to my colleagues when i read the Whatsapp msg.

R+H244

left is the sireh dara, right is bunga pahar. both made by mama kraken, with help from her friends. 

R+H060

the painstakingly handmade, waterproof bunga manggar! actually i have no idea where it was placed that day.

R+H239

my dais, by Elly Weddings. funny story: mama kraken proudly told me that she helped to place the sunflowers cos they didn’t know where to. apparently i had told them i wanted sunflowers?? i don’t remember seh. but anyway, i’m ok with sunflowers so no complaints.

R+H065

so… we stuck NG’s ring in a cupcake. hahaha. the backstory is that NG’s dulang was done by his best friend’s dad, who is known to be a lil quirky in his designs. mama kraken, not wanting to lose, decided to counter his anticipated quirkiness by sticking NG’s ring into a cupcake instead of the usual ring holder. my poor bridesmaid spent an hour plus in a cupcake shop on Friday discussing with the owner on whether this cupcake frosting would be appropriate. 

R+H078

ok back to the programme. NG arrived! (after a slight carpark barrier misunderstanding with the CC staff) i remember wanting to hide myself from him at the guests tables to keep my looks a ~surprise~. he claims he didn’t look at me anyway, cos he felt it was appropriate to look only after we were sah. chettt. so gentleman sia this NG.

R+H091

my wakil, his wakil, and my dad closely examining my ring and hantaran. heheh.

R+H085

a light moment before the seriousness. our kadi was Uztaz Ismail Terimoh.

R+H106

my nikah was not teary at all because mama kraken was being all joker with the kadi when he asked them to confirm that i’m me. 

R+H113

anyway i had to say into the mike “saya setuju”, sign papers, pose with the papers and put my thumb up. my parents and our two witnesses had to put their thumbs up too. a trademark of our kadi, apparently!

R+H122

and then the moment!!! ahhhh. in the days that followed, i wondered to myself if my marriage was real. lol. i mean, think about it. i spent 15 months preparing for this crucial 15 seconds that would change my life forever. it was so surreal that i initially doubted it…

R+H126

another angle. both of them had giant scripts to read from, which made the akad nikah smooth. alhamdulillah.

R+H149

say cheeeese

R+H164

salam-ing my husband for the first time :’)

R+H175 copy

exchanging rings! psst … 9 May 2025 came early :p :p (if you get the reference)

after the ring exchange, we took photos with guests, ate, then split up to get changed into outfit two — the songket! the photo story is continued in part 2.

23 thoughts on “wedding kraken x ninja groom: a photo story (part 1 of 3)

  1. “. i spent 15 months preparing for this crucial 15 seconds that would change my life forever. it was so surreal that i initially doubted it..” i’m currently going through this phase! even the mister said kalau nak hold hand in public “i asek lupa kite da kawin. nak pimpin pun takut takut” haha! both in denial… btw, love all the details captured. you are so smiley!! i cannot remember smiling without being asked because i was too nervous haha. thank you for sharing the pictures! looking forward to part 2

    • kannnn!!! it especially hit me when we just checked into our honeymoon hotel. I was like hmm I’m here with him alone, my family knows about it, and yet they’re ok with it… betul ke??? hahaha. and weweet now got husband to pimpin tangan with in public sehhh 😉 😉

      lol I think I smiled a lot cos I knew I got a photographer taking all the moments… ni namanya mentel!

  2. OMG BABEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE I WANT TO KISS YOUR FACE NOW CAUSE U LOOK AMAZING AND DAMNNNNN, A.N.A did AN AMAZING JOB WITH THE PHOTOS!! Esp loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee your kaki at the door photo! SO NICE!! <3<3 Blog more leh, I want to read!! Hahahahahha

    • hahaha lai lai, kiss kiss! and dayyyyum fadly rocked it didn’t he!!! glad to know you appreciate that photo too, cos I was thinking the only appreciative crowd will be BTBs. orang tua mesti fikir “what’s so special about yr foot?”

  3. that doa pengantin as a table centre piece is good! So inspiring, can I copy your idea on placing wedding ring in a cupcake? Also, where you buy the cupcake holder?

Leave a Reply

