April finish already

wah sehhh May 2015 is here!

khatam Quran – checked!

happy news! alhamdulilah, with Allah’s blessings, I khatam-ed the Quran earlier this week..! *throws confetti* phewwww. i looked back at old entries and realised it took me 7 months of chiong-ing to accomplish this. it may sound short, it may even sound like a wonderful idea to some, but i would definitely recommend budgeting a longer time if you plan to read all 30 juz together with a guru ngaji. cos coordinating schedules can be tough, and in the middle of the journey you may panic about whether you will make it, and towards the end you may feel burnt out. just as i did, to be very honest. i still remember the one weekend where i chiong-ed four ngaji sessions — it felt great but was very tiring at the same time.

am super super grateful for the support of my three guru ngaji who gave up their time to take turns to vet my reading. they were very attentive and also taught me new stuff about tajweed 🙂 alhamdulilah! it also helps that one of them is more Type A, so i suspect she was as driven as i was to see my complete my goal. may Allah swt reward them all :’)

my spa experience

you know the problem with really looking forward to something and having high expectations is that you set yourself up for disappointment. i went to spa by norfa and kinda felt like that.

i took the royal indulgence exotic package which includes a body massage, body scrub, and hair mask. the good part first: the scrub and jacuzzi experiences were my favourite. i picked the strawberry scent, yums. the scrub itself is a little cold (and therefore slightly uncomfy when they lather you) but after that they wrap you up and leave you alone for 15 mins. so i fell asleep sampai termimpi-mimpi semua lulz. then they bring you to the tub to soak. then they switch on this button and WHOOOSH suddenly got water gushing out sia!!! ok lah in my grogginess i forgot it was a jacuzzi tub but anyhoos it was niiice. it’s the ultimate indulgent me-time — definitely a favour BTBs should consider giving themselves 😉

i was also pleasantly surprised that they offered me free ear candling as part of their promo. i’ve done ear candling before, but this was my first time having the therapist massage my head while the candle was in my ear. haha eeps. after a while you can sense that the candle is getting shorter. so by this time, i’m screaming inside my head to my therapist to PLZ PLZ STOP MASSAGING JUZ PAY ATTENTION but of course on the outside i probably (hopefully?) look like i’m zen-ning out. well, no ears or hair were burnt, so it was just the fear of the unknown getting to me.

then i thought the hair mask was gonna be good, but aiyoh! she was kinda rough. i dunno if it’s cos my hair was extra tangled that day but i totes did not enjoy having my hair grabbed and tugged on. this part i visibly frowned but maybe the room was too dark and she didn’t pick up my cues. haha. my hair is softer now lah, but seriously. not worth the pain and annoyance. next time i’m gonna try the creambath at Pearlista instead.

lastly, the part i was most disappointed with was the body massage. i felt like the technique wasn’t really there. unfortch this matters a lot, espesh for massage buffs like me. sooo even though the scrub experience was good, i’m not sure i would return. i guess this is always a risk with masseuses, you have to try out for yourself to see whether you like their style or not. on hindsight i wish i had gone to Sri Bayu instead. bought a Groupon from them some 4-5 years back and danggg the kakaks there were gooood. though i’m not sure if they’re still there, so again, another risk.

but anyway this was a treat by my bridesmaids (alhamdulilahhh) so i do feel bad whining. i had chosen this spa because their FB page has a bunch of good reviews. nonetheless i did leave the place feeling (and looking, i think!) more refreshed so it was overall still a relaxing and pampering experience. plus i knew from the beginning of wedding planning that i wanted to do a bridal spa (hee mentel!) so i’m lucky to have gotten what i wanted.

the last stretch

wah in just a couple of days i will no longer be a BTB. insyaAllah! had a great long weekend cos it was surprisingly chill. managed to get quite a bit of things done without any pressure. i also set up an FB event page of my reception. actually i feel very paiseh cos it’s like putting myself out there, but it’s all part of a strategic grand plan so we shall see how it turns out.

i can feel the bridezilla / kraken bubbling inside me sometimes. wanting things THIS way and THAT way. i do feel kinda bad imposing my preferences on other people, but then i kinda justify to myself as trying my best. haha. like, i don’t want to regret after the wedding by thinking “alamak, i should have informed XX to do so-and-so”. so if my make my wishes known but my orang kuat decide that something else would be better, then so be it. at least i know i thought it through, and that i tried.

hopefully i will soon reach that point when i feel like i’ve pushed myself enough and am ready to let go and tawakkal. hopefully this moment does not come late on fri night or worse, sat morning. ha ha. and hopefully too, i will feel better about everything cos there are moments when i’m soooo grumpy and angry at the world. sian.

so here’s to my last days at work before i disappear for 3 weeks; to my outfit fitting appointment; my henna appointment; our fresh flower DIYs; setting up the day before; our two receptions; our honeymoon; and to a blissful lifetime ahead of us ❤ insyaAllah. thanks for accompanying me on this journey!

11 thoughts on “April finish already

  1. Mabrouk babe! Alhamdullilah dah khatam! Congratulations in advance babe! may Allah ease your affairs and may your special day goes smoothly as a planned. Insha’Allah. 😊

Leave a Reply

