the temporarily difficult days (part 2 of 2)

this is a continuation toย the temporarily difficult days (part 1 of 2).

arrival of bed

our queen-sized mattress and bed frame arrived separately on Fri. the night before, I asked my dad to help dismantle my old bed frame and then I slept on my old mattress on the floor. then on Fri morning, I left my old mattress outside our door and mama kraken got the town council peeps to help us move it and my bed frame downstairs.

getting the queen bed was a novel experience because I’ve had the same single bed frame since I was 7. so macam very bangga lah gitu dapat katil besar baru.

back to Fri night. my mum took out the luxe bedsheet set that she bought for me and together we fixed it onto the mattress. then, she asked me to take a photo of the bed and send it to NG. which I did, though inside my heart I was like “but huaaaat, huaaaai??” lepas tu! she made me keep the bedsheet and she lent me her king sized bedsheet to use in the meantime. chey! all that hard effort for a photo opportunity only.

the dark patch isn’t your eyes playing a trick on you, but the sealant booboo that i briefly mentioned in my post about the room makeover.

that night I slept with my tissue box on my bed… just cos I could. haha! cheap thrill. ok but anyway more on the tissue box later.

bilik pengantin

so then over the weekend, my dad helped to drill the new curtain rods onto the wall. sampai badan berpeluh semua :/ I felt really touched when I saw him so hard at work heh.

I also enlisted the help of my engineer brother to help assemble my Kallax with me because I didn’t trust myself to understand the instructions lolol. it turns out that you probably do need 2 people anyway.

we also got a Taiwanese neighbour-friend to help sew the kain which my mum had bought from Arab St into curtains for the backdrop. this neighbour was off for a flight that night so she gave us same day express service! alhamdulilah. though my mum realised one of them was done wrongly and she had to unpick and resew. ow! but all settled now.

mama kraken and her two friends then transformed my room on Mon. when I got back from work and entered my room I was kinda speechless. like wahhhhhhhh. wahhhhhhhh. wahhh is this for meeeee?? they had even hung my new window curtains and put on the pengantin bedsheet set! the bedsheet was so bling and regal :’)

in mama kraken’s usual style, I had to remove the bedsheet and change back to the king sized one that night. lol. but ok, not complaining!

here’s a sneak peek:

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

oh and my tissue box? it also got a bling sarung HAHAHA. I laughed when I saw it. wah bertuah betul!

Processed with VSCOcam with f1 preset

diet + exercise

at the outfit selection session, it was suggested (or was it requested?) that I lose 1.5 inch off my waist so that I can wriggle myself comfortably into the dresses that I had chosen. the suggestions were to avoid carbs after 7pm one month to the wedding, and to drink lots of water to reduce bloatedness. (apparently this is counter intuitive to my bridesmaids, who thought the less hydrated you are, the more your tummy will flatten.)

anyways. one day I stumbled upon an IG account of a damn hot bikini babe with abs (and boobs!) to die for. then it dawned on me that I could use her as my #fitspiration! looking at her abs abs abs boobs abs spurred me to get off my bum and get out there to exercise. I also started incorporating some static exercises like crunches and leg lifts and weights into my routine too. all the terribly unsexy exercises necessary for a sexy body.

it’s still in the early days but I thiiink I have lost 0.5 inches. I think lah. or maybe I pulled my measuring tape too hard. it happens. I’m also trying to walk more instead of taking the bus (where possible) and take the stairs home but frankly I keep forgetting cos it’s just muscle memory to walk to my lift landing instead of the side staircase. haha fail.

I’m also hoping to do a bit of high intensity interval training (HIIT) which has been described to “incinerate fats” 24h after you exercise. wau. sounds like a good deal for someone like me since time is running out!

diet-wise, I succeed at the no carbs after 7pm rule only half the time. hee. sometimes I’m like, “today will be cheat day” or I’m like “I just came back from a run and I totally deserve that potato… and that potato… *dips into Indian Rojak sauce*”. ok lah takpe, insyaAllah still got more days to increase my compliance :p

baking kuih tart

one of the things i disagreed with was my mum’s plans to bake kuih tart for the wedding. i was like, srsly. we already have a dessert vendor. but okay i’m over it now. dah buat pun! on Sun, the close cousins spent their day at our house helping my mum bake ๐Ÿ™‚ they baked, they gossiped, they laughed, and they cracked crude jokes. i’m usually open to crude jokes … except when they involve my parents. then i wanna cover my ears and shrivel up into a hole in my living room and disappear. (they also planned to install cameras in my room on the first night. thanks eh, thanks)

the wedding kraken x ninja groom pantang

among all the wedding-related pantang larang (old wives tales), the one on not meeting your partner for 40 days is probably one of the most famous. according to wikipedia, the rationale is to (i) avoid rumours (ii) avoid temptations and (iii) make the couple deeply miss each other, which in turn makes their faces glow (“membuatkan wajah pengantin lebih berseri”) on the wedding day.

about 2-3 weeks ago, ninja groom and i agreed to go on a pantang. instead of 40 days, ours would be 30 days i.e. after 9 Apr. our rules are no meeting, no telephone calls and … no SMS/whatsapp. yes, really. we still whatsapp to discuss the admin details of our wedding or discuss our honeymoon itinerary, but that’s about it. task oriented and business-only.

how’s it been? at first it was manageable. on day 2, i was walking home when i heard someone call out my name from a nearby coffee shop. i turned around slowly … and it was NG’s friends. with NG there. hahah fail!!! his friends were very nice to help cover his face so as to protect the pantang. one of them joked that now we have to restart our pantang and delay the wedding by 2 days. but by day 4 (Mon), i felt like vomitting from the discomfort of not talking to NG. hahaha drama sia. cos usually on Mondays we ask each other what are the plans for the week. so that was the first time that I realised I wouldn’t know what he’s up to…! also i really miss having someone to complain my daily traumas to, like about having to use the computer mouse of a colleague who’s notorious for not washing his hands in the toilet. ewww.

with all the incidents happening, and a few other disagreements and anxiety issues not listed here, the pantang kinda made the week feel worse. and sometimes the void would let Syaitan’s whispers to affect me, na’uzubillah. so on Sun, we conceded that it would be good to allow ourselves a short reprieve to catch up over whatsapp on latest happenings and stuff. and so with the turnaround of events over the weekend and catching up with NG again, i felt loads better ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ alhamdulilah. i found out that he had brought his two gengs, who will be his orang kuat on our wedding day, for gokart, paintball and seafood at JB…!!! wah, sometimes all this seemingly bochap grooms can be so crouching tiger hidden dragon one.

we’ll have to meet for outfit fitting, nonetheless. he suggested asking if we could make separate appointments but i was like don’t even *THINK* about it. eh speaking of which, i don’t have an appointment date yet. haiz. i wish my bridal house could have a system of assigning fitting sessions in advance bleah.

this pantang better be worth the seri on my face and the feels on 9 May, man! i mean, insyaAllah lah eh. counting down to our next reprieve this Sunday, which will be a little checkpoint for us ๐Ÿ™‚

meanwhile, here’s praying for Allah’s mercy, blessings and protection and for Him to grant me the taqwa/wisdom to husnudzon towards His takdir/fate and to always bersangka baik kepada orang. cos God knows how essential the last two skills are in the final lap of wedding planning :’)

11 thoughts on “the temporarily difficult days (part 2 of 2)

  1. HIIT actually works. It continue to burn even when you wake up. The idea of abstain from carbs is slightly true. The main aim to stop eating sugar after 7pm including fruits. Then you’ll see a huge difference. Jia Yo!

  2. hi! this might not have anything to do with your post but… may I know where you got your bedframe from? sorry if kepo.. ๐Ÿ˜›

    anw, the pantang period kan.. it will be worth it! my husb & I set our pantang to only 14 days because we had alot of things to do and mutual friends’ weddings to attend before that but it was still so worth it. The excitement and mentel-ness macam extra upon seeing each other on our nikah day. hehe.

    • haha ooh cool! I belum expert lagi babe but insyaAllah it’s possible ๐Ÿ™‚ anyways <30 days you'll slowly become sooo busy running errands and if you're taking long leave for wedding, your office punya workload pun mungkin banyak as you try to clear them. these things will easily fill up the void. oh and pandang lah puas2 on your hari nikah… it would be well deserved after the pantang!

    • eeps I realised my earlier comment to you got cut off!!! best part is that I don’t remember what was it I wanted to say hahah. probably along something along the lines that it’ll be totally normal to want to admire your groom on your nikah day hehe

  3. I couldnt imagine myself in ur shoes, with the pantang larang and the kuruskan badan. tak sangka 2 more weeks till the wedding bells! hehehe. all the best babe and dont stress2 :))

  4. Hello…. hopped over here pulak. Hehe.. Seriously..? No calls n no WA? Blei tahan ah?? Hehehe… i wish the best for ur big day. Congratulations in advance. โ˜บ

Leave a Reply

