in 50 days… pre-BEAST mode

hello! 50 days left siaaa. though frankly it feels the same as when it was 150 or 100 days away… macam still very far. but preps wise, won’t be soon before long till it gets into BEAST mode. hur.

so some quick (or not) updates on preps:

– I’ve become less of a procrastinator. These days I feel more anxious to strike things off the to-do list, in anticipation of crunch time later.

– More honeymoon preps. Applied for my visa and my international driving permit (trying to step brave here), booked one of our intercity buses, emailed our hotel to request for early check in (“we would just have completed a 21h red eye flight and would much appreciate M&C’s hospitality,” I wrote pitifully.) Also starting to plan a skeletal itinerary and research on the attractions so we can group the nearby ones together-gether.

– Parents met caterer to bring them on a site visit, finalise menu and deliverables, work out the little details, and pay (a pretty huge) deposit. Though it’s also worth noting that it’s our first payment to them since booking them last year. Conclusion is that the package we’re getting is mad generous. Lots of types of food and nasi berkat to give to guests, not inclusive of the berkat for our relatives. Also, she will provide cutlery for my meja pengantin. Selamat!

– Selected outfits! I was soooo excited about this! I even packed a bag with a baju kurung I was 50/50 about on wearing for nikah so that I could show the mak andam in case the dress I wanted was not available! I also brought tudungs that I bought in anticipation of the dresses I wanted! And then! I was told that I would not be allowed to try out the baju during selection!






Wait… what?

Yeah, terus hampa seh. Hah. It was a good thing I found out about this a few hours before my apmt. I happened to be SMSing them about package prices and all that. Otherwise, my face would have turned black during the apmt seh. Sian lor. But what to do? We chose the dresses off the rack based on the colour, and referenced a lot to previous photos of brides on their FB. So turns out all my stalking was not actually stalking, but legit homework for my selection. 

So anyway, heads up to the relevant BTBs. So you know what to expect. Also I thought my selection apmt was relatively late (<2 mths to wedding), compared to what I hear from my BTB friends who took other bridal houses.

Separately, I’m really glad I brought a bridesmaid with me. She helped to filter the outfits and I pretty much just said yes or no. Hee. Meanwhile, NG sat on the couch and played with his phone most of the time.

– Got a sketch of my pelamin from my decor company. It looks pretty good! And also a floor plan which needs to be rejigged… big time.

– Seems like my skin is deteriorating. Thinking of ordering a new pack of The Regimen from Amazon to salvage it.

– April will be the month of pampering, I think. Salon trip, dental visit, and maybe a spa? 😀

– But April will also be the month of doing my room makeover furreals. Not super looking forward to the work involved, but reminding myself that nothing worth it is ever easy! Must. Work. Hard.

– Speaking of which, I’m also stressed about my majlis khatam Quran. I was just thinking this morning about how I don’t regret at all going on this journey. If I didn’t have this event objective, I think it would have been a lot harder to get over the inertia + nafs of occupying my time with the other things to get into the groove of regular ngaji again. Even if I made a personal resolution to khatam by XX, I think it would have taken truckloads of discipline to strive towards it. However, I also do wish that I started earlier. I now have about 7 weeks to finish the second half of the Quran. It’s a stretch goal. I’m sure at the end of it I would feel a huge, huge sense of accomplishment, but right now I often fret about whether I can clock enough hours each week to ngaji.

– Also, insyaAllah I won’t be the only one to khatam. Mama Kraken, and her friends (10? 20? of them) are sharing the majlis with me. It’s good I guess, though I also feel pressure. My mum is catching up on me! (Ni pun nak competitive eh.)

– Bordering on TMI, some weeks back I went to the GP to get pills. You know, that sort of pills, cos we don’t plan on having kids so soon. I thought I would start about 2 months early because it’s a new routine to get used to. You have to pop the pill around the same time every day. If you miss them, it backfires. I was also pretty worried about potential side effects, and would rather find out now than later. The thing is that every body reacts differently, so the only way to find out is to take a leap of faith and try it. Manufacturers also say it takes about 3-6 months for some side effects to go away. On the advice of UndercoverBride, I doa’ed for a smooth journey before popping my first one. Alhamdulilah, it’s been uneventful thus far though I’m still fairly new. The upside about being on the pill is that your period becomes fairly predictable, so I did my calculations before choosing what date to start 😉

– My invites were long ready. I’m just waiting for a socially acceptable time to start approaching for addresses and sending them out. Lulz. I can’t reconcile the Melayu logic of “not sending too early or people will forget.” Cos in the corporate world, the earlier the notice, the better kan? Nonetheless some cards have gone out, espesh the ones by hand. I also approached some of my Chinese friends and colleagues already, not because they’re higher priority, but because I think it’s more normal for them to receive invites more than 4-6 weeks before a wedding. Two have even asked me “so… where’s my invite?” Haha. 

That’s all the updates for now. To smooth preparations ahead, insyaAllah. 

Oh yeah one last thing! I have my previous years’ raya bajus which are too small for me. Does anyone know any organisation or disadvantaged family whom I can donate them to? The kurungs are generally sizes UK6-8 and more suited for orang muda. Thank you! 

16 thoughts on “in 50 days… pre-BEAST mode

  1. All the best babe..u can do it! Just step by step. And as for thr bc bit..u can consider depo provera. Its a shot u take every 3 months also a form of bc. Which i will be taking on. It has its pros n cons bt me being a total scatterbrain I will need it.

  2. OMGGGGG MY EXACT SENTIMENTS ON THE BRIDAL SELECTION PROCESS! I SUPER REGRET SIAKKKKKK NOW! AND VERY HAMPA FOR EVERYTHING.

    Plus the baju’s all designer and very limited on the non-designer ones. Actually the designer ones were limited too. Haissss. And I ended up forking more for a designer one too. Oh, pardon the caps. I was waiting for you to blog about this coz I’ve been too busy to blog. Sedih sampai nangis.

    • DID YOU TAKE THE RED SONGKET DID YOU??!!!! and aper ni nak tumpang2 update pergilah update so I haz some entertainment heheheh. but yesss the baju quite limited… banyak yang hidden kat belakang. we also asked if we go behind to see for ourselves (rather than trouble the girl to keep going back and forth for us) but the answer was no. haiz! I a bit tawar hati already but now just hoping that somehow the actual day will be okay. some more I heard that the boss now shuttles between a few brides each day so I also dunno if I can get her… macam good and bad eh.

      • HAHAHAHAHAHAHA AH2 SIAAAA!

        But truth be told, I kinda regret it now. I dunno if it’ll suit me and shit liddattttt coz cannot try anythin till the Monday of our wedding week. So haisssss. I sedih. It was like one of the only appointment we look forward too most. And we couldn’t see the rest from the back either. Howellssss. Hoping the actual day turns out well!

      • haha nouuu don’t regret! it’s a very nice piece and I think everyone will look great. we wanted it (it was on the rack) but then she said it’s not available and in my heart I was thinking “hmmmm ni mesti tenfivefifteen” hahaha jk. oh yah I asked them if we could confirm the next apmt already (I mean, there is only ONE Monday in the wedding week kan) but they said cannot confirm yet. haiz. meanwhile, I’ve been told to lose 1.5 inches from my tummy to fit the dresses I chose 😔

  3. Haha. We are all in the same sea, just different boats (Pandai2 je buat analogy). I hope more brides would share on whether they get a chance to try or even sarungkan the baju.

    • idk, they didn’t really explain their reasons why 😦 perhaps they have good reasons why but I think they can do better to set/manage expectations. jadi kita pun tak rasa hampa dgn brand dia. so nvm, at least now you know what to expect when it’s your turn. must stalk their FB religiously closer to your wedding ok! 🙂

  4. Heya, I was disappointed too when that happened to me! My husband don’t say lah he asked what is the point of going to the office when it’s as good as choosing the outfit from FB. Nonetheless on the final fittting day there will be a seamstress on standby to do the adjustments on the spot. But this one kalau nak kecikkan baju kan kalau nak besarkan different story already! Hahahah.

    I hope for a smooth journey for you. Banyakkan doa, speak less, listen more, observe/reflect on your life because it will definitely change. Try not to offend anyone and be stern with your vendors but not overbearing. Most importantly spend time with your family because soon you’ll have two families and not enough time for both!

    • haha so trueee. I was quite thrilled to find a dress which I thiiink I’ve not seen on FB yet though. looking forward to the fitting sesh, hopefully it’ll be a better experience.

      thanks very much for your kind wishes and reminders! espesh on speaking less and listening more. think I learned the hard way in an incident earlier this week 😦 sigh. hope you and Z are doing great!

  5. Hello! I’m taking the same mua and i didn’t get to try the baju during the outfit selection. but I was okay with it cos i’m quite confident it will somehow look okay on me haha. but agree on the limitation they have, designers and non-designers. Especially their songket outfits, major disappointment. I was expecting more choices since they have been in the industry for quite sometime. My conclusion after the selection is that, go for the bridal house if you’re prepared to fork out more cos i didn’t really take a liking for their non-designers outfits.

    • hello back atcha! ooh, when is/was your wedding? 🙂 yeah it’s true what you say, BTBs should generally expect to top up if they wanna engage this bridal house. for me I budgeted some money already so there were no rude shocks on selection day. looking forward to the fitting session!

Leave a Reply

